We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

“The trouble with denial is that when the truth comes, you aren’t ready.”

28243032In a Nutshell:  Marin ran away from home after something tragic happens in her life. She ran and never look back. Until Mabel, her long time friend, catches up to her and spends a few days with her. The entire story revolves around this visit and how they both dance around until they finally acknowledge the elephant in the room.

Rating: bookmark_256bookmark_256bookmark_256

Read this if… you like an emotion-driven, rather than plot-driven, read. There’s not much going on plot-wise, as the entirety of the book just paints grief, and how it affects a person. If you’re up to that melodrama, then this book’s for you. Though if you’re someone who has undergone depression or knows a loved one who did, maybe think twice so as not to open old wounds?

 

In all honesty, I think this book paints not a pretty picture, but a realistic one. There is a very raw and very truthful depiction on depression and grief and at some point, it hit close to home. I admit that the first part bored me and I felt like there was nothing to latch on to. But as I approach the latter chapters, I found myself devouring every page, and every phrase turned into an emotional trigger. I didn’t know at what point I started shedding tears, but I had to admit, it did come.

The storytelling was also beautifully done. There were chapters occurring in the present time, and there were flashback chapters. What’s amazing is that this type of storytelling made me feel as if I was in the story itself. Having been told from Marin’s point of view, the readers are made aware of the events as Marin comes to terms with it. It was like a dive into Marin’s heart and mind.

I just wished I wasn’t bored with the first part. I felt like a book this should have been read in one sitting, but because I didn’t fully like the first part, it took me ages to finish this. But it was still worth it. I’ll probably re-read this in future and see how it impacts me when I’m at a different point in my life.

Leave a Reply

