Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) by Cassandra Clare

“Sometimes our lives can change so fast that the change outpaces our minds and hearts. It’s those times, I think, when our lives have altered but we still long for the time before everything was altered – that is when we feel the greatest pain. I can tell you, though, from experience, you grow accustomed to it. You learns to live your new life, and you can’t imagine, or even really remember, how things were before.”

7171637In a Nutshell:  Tessa Gray arrives in London expecting to reunite with her older brother, after the death of her aunt. She soon finds herself on the run from two witches (and an entire cult) who seems to believe she has some secret power and threatens to torture her brother if she does not cooperate. She seeks solace from Shadowhunters, nephilims sworn to protect the humans from demonic creatures.

Rating: bookmark_256bookmark_256bookmark_256bookmark_256

Read this if… you enjoyed The Mortal Instruments (TMI) – same world different country, same characters but different names. But even if you didn’t enjoy that series, give this a shot. I didn’t like TMI either, but I enjoyed this one so much and I don’t regret giving it a shot.

I truly enjoyed this! I was so surprised with that fact because I hated The Mortal Instruments, but maybe that’s because of the scandalous love affair. But never mind that, I was so ecstatic I gave this one a chance! The characters were so similar to the characters of The Mortal Instruments, so that was a bit off. There were even some plotlines which weren’t very original as well, so I can’t really give this one a 5-star rating, no matter how much I wanted to.

Nevertheless, the sarcastic humor pulled me in. That was truly entertaining to read! The action scenes and the plot turned very interesting and thankfully there is no scandalous love affair this time, and that makes me so relieved. The pacing’s really great all through out and there wasn’t a moment that I felt bored. There’s a bit of a love triangle brewing, and while I normally don’t like love triangles, this one I truly adored – not only the two guys are complete opposites, but they complement each other and are really good friends, almost brothers (Dorian and Chaol, anyone?). One is a brooding, wild one you just cannot help but tame, and one is a delicate pure one you just cannot help but protect.

All in all, even though the characters are a carbon copy of the original TMI characters, I still think that these characters are the strong point of the novel. And I love them even more so when they quote from books – that is just so adorable! I did not even notice it, but I started caring about these characters and that doesn’t happen most of the time. Me being attached to the characters is a proof of how well this was written.

Ms. Cassandra Clare, you have absolutely redeemed yourself with this one. I can’t wait to dive into the next one (Clockwork Prince).

Leave a Reply

