Favorite Reads of 2016

2016 has been a great year for me. I read a total of 79 books, which is a stretch from my target (60).

Now to be clear, here are my favorite reads of 2016 (so difficult to pick just ten!). Some of these aren’t even published in 2016, but they’re here as I’ve only read them in the year 2016. I’ve also included excerpt/quotes from the book. Hopefully, they’ll be enough to pull you in  and convince you to read them. No further explanation needed. So, here goes my list…

10. Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

“There ain’t nobody in the world like book people.”

 

9. Confess by Colleen Hoover

“I’ll love you forever. Even when I can’t.”

 

8. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

“But grief makes a monster out of us sometimes . . . and sometimes you say and do things to the people you love that you can’t forgive yourself for.”

 

7. And I Darken by Kiersten White

“So the question becomes, Daughter of the Dragon, what will you sacrifice? What will you let be taken away so that you, too, can have power?”

 

6. The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

“There is a difference between you and me. If I die, you’ll survive. If you die, it will destroy me.”

 

5. A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

“Maybe if I keep saying the words, they’ll stop hurting.”

 

4. Morning Star by Pierce Brown

How many mothers have prayed to see their sons, their daughters return from war only to realize the war has kept them, the world has poisoned them, and they’ll never be the same?

 

3. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

“I would come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together—knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.”

 

2. Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Patience and Silence had one beautiful daughter. And her name was Vengeance.

 

1. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

“To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.”

 

What are YOUR favorites of 2016? Come share!

 

Leave a Reply

